Sunscreen Haul

Having grown up and lived in a tropical country, Philippines, I always make sure to put on some kind of SPF everyday (usually recommended by my Dermatologist). We have 2 seasons in the Philippines: summer and rainy. From March to May, the days would be hot and humid. By June to November, it would be rainy and wet. It is usually cooler by December to February but still hot, just not as much as March to May. So, all my life, I grew up where it was hot and sunny and using sunscreen has always been a habit and a must-have for me.

Ever since I became active this summer, I went on the hunt for the best sweat-proof sunblock to use when I do my runs. I normally use Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion so I thought maybe I could use this too when I do my runs in the summer heat.

pre-running essentials.

I tried it but, I would end up sweating the lotion off.  It is not sweat-proof. On a daily basis or at the beach this is really a good product! I love this sunscreen, and for me, this is the best. I use it on my face and body. It is light, absorbs quickly and smells great. It’s not greasy and when you apply your make up over it, it stays matte. My skin usually burns very fast and when I used this during my vacation with my family in Boracay, Philippines, we were under the sun in the beach for hours all day, my skin did not burn.

But for running and sweating, I don’t think this is the product for it. So, I went to Wal-mart yesterday and grabbed one of these.

Neutrogena Ultimate Sport Sunblock Spray SPF 100+. I tried it on for the first time when I did my run this morning. I sprayed it on my arms, legs and rubbed it on my hands, put it on my face. I like how easy it is to apply. 🙂 I’m pleased, so far. It’s great and I am happy with it. It isn’t as heavy and greasy as some of the other sport sunscreens I used before. It has a nice scent though I’m not sure if that’s going to attract bugs when I run in the trails. I am not sure too how long it can stay on to protect me because I only did a 30-minute run (3 miles) this morning. I’ll update you guys in the comments section below when I use it for my longer runs.

Since we are already talking about sunscreen/sunblock, let me tell you about the other products that I normally use everyday.

It’s really important to always apply sunscreen everyday, even in cloudy days  or when staying indoors as UVA rays can still penetrate through clouds and glass. Dermatologists confirmed that exposure to the sun can definitely accelerate premature aging and putting you at risk of skin cancer. It won’t happen overnight, especially when you’re young but will evidently occur later in life if you don’t do something about it. In my case, I make it as part  of my daily morning routine to apply sunblock lotion after I take a shower.

For the face, I use Obagi Sunblock along with the other Obagi stuff that was prescribed to me by my Dermatologist.

You need a doctor’s prescription to use the Obagi product line. You need to set an appointment with your dermatologist and ask about this if this is the right product for you. This product was recommended to me for daily use under make-up by my dermatologist and I absolutely love it. It is light and not greasy. The only negative I can think of is, it’s a little on the pricey side, but a little goes a long way.

Other products that I use too:
1.) Peter Thomas Roth Max Sheer All Day Defense Moisture Lotion – SPF 30

I am pretty active during winter season too. I love to go snowboarding and this is what I use during winter months. I tend to have dry skin on those months and this moisturizes my skin as well. This comes in heavy thick lotion but blends into my skin nicely. I have used this in the summer when my skin becomes oily and this lotion does not cause an increase in oiliness. It’s lightweight and non-greasy and feels great on skin.

As I was looking for my sweat-proof sunblock yesterday, I also grabbed one of these

2.) Aveeno Continuous Protection Sunblock Lotion SPF 30

I tried it on yesterday and it felt very light. It’s not greasy and my powder foundation looked smoother. It absorbs quickly on your skin and not sticky.

and one of these 3.) Neutrogena Age Shield Sunblock SPF 70

I wore it the whole day today. At first, I find it a little sticky and heavy (compared to Aveeno), but then it sinks in to your skin within minutes of putting it on and has a silky feel. It was easy to put makeup on over it.

4.) Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm SPF 25

I’m so addicted to this stuff. It is moisturizing and lasts for a long time on my lips. I have the lemon and chamomile, which smells so great. It cools your lips leaving it nice and soft.

Do you always wear sunscreen? What products do you recommend?

If you have questions feel free to post them below at the comment section.

Thanks! That’s it for now! I’m off to my Pilates Class! 🙂 See yah later!

2 thoughts on “Sunscreen Haul

Share Your Thoughts ...