Survived My First “Meatless Monday”

My first attempt of “Meatless Monday” was quite an adventure and I must say a learning experience.  I still need to educate myself more on meatless options for next week. I’m glad today was a successful experience for my husband and me.  We are definitely looking forward to doing it every week. 🙂

I had my usual daily breakfast of old-fashioned oatmeal. This makes breakfast a no-brainer. I love warm oats mixed with different kinds of fruits. For today. I had

  • warm oatmeal
  • top with cherries, oats with almond, chia seeds, and
  • splash of almond milk

Image

I just made a simple meal for myself for lunch. I stir fried blanched green beans with minced garlic, seasoned with salt and pepper, plus 2 small pieces of left over corns from our dinner last night. I seasoned the corn with cayenne pepper and Accent.

Image

We picked up a lot of peaches from the International Store last Friday, so I thought of using them for dinner tonight. I made my version of White Bean Lettuce Wrap with Pesto.

Image

  • extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup diced onion
  • 4 cloves garlic
  • salt and pepper
  • cayenne pepper (optional)
  • asparagus, sliced
  • 1 cup of sliced peaches
  • 1 can of white beans, drained
  • pesto
  • lettuce

Image

1.) I used cast iron, but you can use any pan you like. Sauté the onions in olive oil until translucent, and a pinch of salt and pepper to taste. Then add garlic.

Image

Note: I like my garlic crushed using garlic presser. It gives out more flavor to my dish.

Garlic presser crushes garlic cloves efficiently by forcing them through a grid of small holes. The peel remains in the press while the garlic is extruded out. It’s an alternative to mincing garlic with a knife.

Image

2.) Add asparagus and cook for about 2 minutes.

Image

3.) Add peaches and cook them until they release some juices. About 3 minutes.

Image

4.) Add beans and cook for about 2 more minutes. Seasoned with salt and pepper or cayenne pepper.

Image

5.) Turn off heat and let sit for 5 minutes or so, so that the flavors can meld.

6.) Place lettuce leaves on plate and spoon in beans. Top it with a spoonful of your choice of pesto.

Image

They turned out so yummy and I loved it. My (meat-lover) husband loved it too. Yay!  Including fruit in my main course is something I should do more often.

In the hope you would consider joining me and participate in “Meatless Monday”,  I would love to hear about your experiences. Feel free to share your ideas and thoughts on the comment section below.

I am definitely feeling more excited about this and looking forward to more of my Meatless Mondays adventure! 🙂

4 thoughts on “Survived My First “Meatless Monday”

    1. jaml905 Post author

      Coconut water or coconut juice. They’re both the same. There is no real difference between coconut water and coconut juice. Both refer to the liquid found inside young coconuts

      Reply

Share Your Thoughts ...