Getting Into Juicing

I was all quiet the past few days thinking about tragedy in Boston. The city became close to my heart after my visit and the terror attack hasn’t left my mind since that horrible day.

Thank you for your comments on my previous blog post a few days ago. I appreciate all your kind words 🙂

I was glued to the live streaming video of CBS News Boston the whole day yesterday (literally) as they caught the marathon bomber. It was scary and intense! I felt so relieved when they finally captured him.

I’m confident to say that Boston will be okay. The nation will be okay. The running community will be okay. It will be hard for everyone to move on. It will take some time to heal but as what the President said, we will come back stronger and we will continue to run more marathons again! 🙂


Last night, a nice, peaceful, sunset run was just what my mind and body needed. I did a lot of reflection during this run in honor of those affected in the tragedy.

As you can tell from my previous post my emotions are a bit all over the place but, I’m going to try to resume normal posting as best I can.

So, this week, my husband and I have just started juicing. 🙂

We’ve watched some documentaries on healthier eating and have decided to start juicing. My husband really wanted to do this especially since all he’s done for the past 2 weeks was eat, eat, and eat. We ate delicious food all the time while in Houston and Boston. He was complaining that his belly was just getting bigger and bigger so he decided to make a dietary change.

We want to benefit from getting proper nutrients that our Filipino/American diet just doesn’t provide. We hope to lose weight from it as well. I like getting nutrients from the juice of fruits and vegetables I would never ordinarily be eating.

BEFORE

AFTER

So far, the machine we got for juicing is very easy to use and it does a good job.

My husband was the one who introduced the idea to me, so I asked him to make a video of it getting started to share with you guys.

Verdict: After four days of juicing I felt healthier and I noticed my skin is glowing and my husband already lost 5 pounds. I was more than a little surprised how much I enjoyed it. I think juicing is an excellent way to get more fresh vegetables in your diet. I wouldn’t be able to eat that much amount of vegetables and fruits in one sitting on a regular basis. I personally think it’s yummier than any juice you can buy at the store.


Our fridge is busting with veggies and fruits!

Juicing will now become a staple in our diet. It’s way better than buying packaged juice from the grocery store. I prefer my juice to be as fresh as possible to ensure the highest nutrient content. I like that I can control what I add to my juice.

Anyways, have you heard of juicing? Have you ever tried a juicer?  I would love to hear your experience with it.  Is juicing something you would consider? Do you know someone who is doing it?  I really value your input!!!

Disclaimer:
We are not compensated nor paid to do this. We bought our juicer with our own money. All thoughts and opinions expressed above are my own. 
Juicing is NOT for everyone. Do your own research or consult a certified nutrition expert and ask if it’s right for you.

Xoxo, JOTR

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JaOnTheRun
Instagram: @ja_ontherun

16 thoughts on “Getting Into Juicing

  1. Pingback: Productive Weekend | Ja on the RUN

  2. TheTinyRunner

    Your fridge is SO organized an neat!!!! It looks awesome!! I haven’t gotten into juicing quite yet. I think I am going to wait until after the move to start being creative in the kitchen!

    Reply
    1. Ja @Ja on the RUN Post author

      I personally enjoy it. Yes, the juicer was kind of expensive. My husband and I were debating about it before buying it.
      We juice about once a day. I think it’s saving me money on groceries now because we are cutting back on our meat consumption. Veggies are cheaper than meats.

      Reply
    1. Ja @Ja on the RUN Post author

      Hi Tink! 🙂
      Sometimes we substitute it. Like last night, we just had juice and it made us full already. Unlike others, I will not completely replace my diet with this. I don’t think I can do that. It’s just a great way for me to add veggies and fruits to my diet. 🙂

      Have you watched the documentary Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead? That’s where we got the idea. It’s a good documentary about how people’s lives changed after changing their diet to plant-based. 🙂

      Reply
  3. OneMotherofaDay

    I have actually never juiced but I make smoothies (banana/blueberries/avocado/spinach/coconut water and gelatin) sometimes after a run. I had considered juicing in the past but it seems like it could get a little pricey 😦 happy juicing!!

    Reply
    1. Ja @Ja on the RUN Post author

      I love smoothies too. I make them too after my runs. 🙂 So refreshing.
      Yes I have to agree, the juicer is a little bit pricey. My husband and I had to think twice before we purchased ours. But once we got the juicer, our grocery expense went down, because veggies are cheaper compared to meats. 🙂

      Reply
  4. Amy Lauren

    I don’t have a juicer, but I do like going to the juice bar at my local Earth Fare and getting the juices there. It’s a good meal replacement (to replace a small meal of course, like a lunch) and a good way to get in a ton of veggies. I can definitely see a difference too! I would like a juicer someday when I can afford one- I just can’t justify the expense until we get moved and settled into our house (in a few months).

    I’m also glad they caught the Boston guy… I was glued to the TV too. Scary stuff.

    Reply
    1. Ja @Ja on the RUN Post author

      Hi Amy, yup that’s what I thought too. I would probably not eat all of those veggies in the plate. It’s really a good way to add more veggies to mg diet. 🙂

      Yay! Excited for your new home! 🙂
      Have a great weekend! 🙂

      Reply
  5. jillconyers

    My husband and I juice often and every few months I do a cleanse with primarily juice. Love it!

    Would you mind helping me spread the word about Fitness Friday by including the FF button in your post or sidebar? Thanks so much!

    Reply

Share Your Thoughts ...