Daily Archives: April 23, 2013

“Runners for Boston” in Cincinnati

Last night, running stores across the nation conducted a running event called “Runners for Boston” to gather all runners across America to support Boston and those affected in the bombing.

When I heard about this event, I knew I wanted to take part. As avid runners, my husband and I went to our local running store here in Cincinnati, Bob Roncker’s, to participate and show our support and love for the city of Boston.

I wore again my souvenir hoodie from my Boston trip.

As we walked up to the running store, I immediately saw a sea of runners and walkers gathered all together and wearing the iconic blue and yellow of the Boston Marathon. It was a beautiful sight.

I was moved seeing a lot of runners and walkers showing their support.  Runners of all ages. I even saw a nun!

I was trying to take a picture of the old man in orange and blue. He was wearing a 1987 Boston Marathon jacket. He was there to participate and STILL running (props to him!) 🙂

One of the organizers from the running store spoke a few words before we run.


I got teary eyed during the part when we were asked to take a moment of silence to say a prayer. It still saddens me when I think about the last week’s event but being part of this community made me feel a sense of belonging. It just felt so good to be out there that day with amazing people.

We sang the national anthem and took off running.

We did a 3 mile loop around the neighborhood of Hyde Park Square. That night’s run wasn’t about speed or your training. It was all about reflecting, honoring, and healing. Everyone smiled and waved as they passed each other . There was a unified peace in all of us.

Told you I saw a nun. So awesome! 🙂

It was a beautiful sunset run. We all ended up at the running store again. We stayed and chatted a bit with other runners.

Photo Apr 22, 7 22 18 PM

There were “Runners for Boston” shirts available for sale with 100% of proceeds going to One Fund Boston. We wanted to buy, but our size were already sold out. We were told to check again next week. 🙂

Love these stickers!

Funny sticker that made everyone laugh. 🙂

The run turned out great! My husband and I had a wonderful time showing our support.

By the way, news crews from different TV stations in Cincinnati were there and this event was featured last night in the local news on tv.


You can watch it here. 🙂

Runners for Boston on WLWT News 5 🙂

Yesterday was a very special day for the running community & the city of Boston. Incredibly proud to be part of it. We’re not going to let two people or terrorists stop us from doing what we love.

Did you join a Runners for Boston event?

Happy running to all of you!

Xoxo, JOTR

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JaOnTheRun
Instagram: @ja_ontherun