Runs, Bike Rides and “Some” FroYo

Hi everyone! 🙂

Well, I have been a busy girl since last Friday. My husband and I woke up around 8:00am that day, a little late for our morning run. We were successful to run 9 miles but let me tell you – it was HOT out there that day! I felt like I almost got into a state of dehydration. It was my first time I had to rip my tank top off in my downright desperation and ran with just a sports bra in the last few miles. And wow, that felt better! Never did I think I’d feel okay running in just a sports bra – I’m way too shy. I don’t have that “perfect runner’s body” to flaunt. 😛 But that day, I did not care at all. I just had to do it! I felt weird and conscious for a while but I had to do what was necessary or else I would die in the dreadful heat! :/

Have you ever ran with just a sports bra or are you conscious like me?
What are your thoughts on running with just a sports bra?

After lunch we went out to run some errands and later that day, I was able to FINALLY get my FroYo fix. 😛

I had been craving for FroYo since forever! I see them everywhere in everyone’s blog posts and it’s making my craving even worse. LOL!

Hubby and I headed to Orange Leaf. It’s a self serve frozen yogurt place. They have large cups, which did not help me from getting just a small amount when your eyes and stomach are playing tricks on you. This place made me feel dizzy inside. I am a horrible decision maker and they have a wide selection of flavors and toppings. I was going decision crazy! LOL!

I settled for peanut butter frozen yogurt with strawberries, kiwis, cookie dough and sour gummy bears for toppings. 🙂 YUM! )

Saturday‘s weather was perfect to be outside! So hubby and I with some friends headed out to log some miles on these babies!

It was a perfect day for a bike ride. We did a total of 37 miles in the trail and I had a blast!
I love our trails here! It’s over 70+ miles stretch that goes from Cincinnati all the way to Dayton. It is shady for most parts and the view of the river is beautiful. Great for running or biking, paved, well-maintained, and not overcrowded.
The scenery along the trail is great, and can keep me entertained on my long runs. There’s a bathroom and a port-a-potty along the way which is crucial for me when I drank my way through an entire 2-liter Camelbak on a hot day.


This trail runs through Loveland which is my favorite part. Loveland has great places to eat and stop for your breaks. So halfway through our bike that day, we stopped by this place and grabbed an early lunch. 🙂

We finished up a long leisurely bike ride in a little over 3 hours. It was a pretty easy and fun ride. 🙂

After our ride and burning 1,000+ calories we headed up to Yoba to treat myself for some FroYo again. 🙂

Photo Jun 02, 11 35 35 AM
After my much needed FroYo, hubby and I were off to catch a movie, Now You See Me.

Have you seen the movie Now You See Me? What do you think of the magic tricks?

As we were walking to the movie theater, we passed by Old Navy, and this caught my attention.


The moment I saw that tank from outside the store’s window, I knew I had to stop and get one for myself! 🙂 I love it. It’s so comfortable and the length is perfect for covering just enough.
Photo Jun 02, 5 30 07 PM
On Sunday after church, we headed out for an early lunch at our favorite hole in the wall Vietnamese restaurant. 🙂 After lunch, we went to our local running store to check out new running shoes, AND guess what’s beside it?  TWilly’s Yogurt! A FroYo place again! 🙂
I got the caramel frozen yogurt with strawberries, chocolate chips, cheesecake bits and those fruit flavored “popping balls” that are filled with juice and pop in your mouth – good stuff! Yum!
I’ve become fond of all these self-serve frozen yogurt places. Three days in a row of FroYo – perhaps too fond. Haha! 😛 I can see myself enjoying these places all summer. Crossing my fingers that I never become lactose intolerant.

Yesterday’s morning weather was beautiful. Cooler than what we had during the weekends. I couldn’t let it pass and did a quick easy run! 🙂 It felt good!
Photo Jun 03, 7 44 48 AM
My husband noticed my enthusiasm for FroYo over the weekend. So, when he got home from work yesterday, he brought me these. 🙂

YUM!!! …and
Photo Jun 03, 1 00 33 PM
YUM!
and more yum to more of my favorite food – Indian food and Piada 🙂
Piada
Don’t you love your husbands more when they come home with food? I do. That means no cooking for me 😛

That’s it for my fun FroYo-filled weekend.

Hope you all had a yummy weekend too like mine! 🙂

What are your favorite FroYo toppings?

Xoxo, JOTR

> Like my blog’s facebook page: Ja-ontheRUN Blog
> Check out my silly photo adventures on Instagram: @ja_ontherun

 

31 thoughts on “Runs, Bike Rides and “Some” FroYo

  1. olivetorun

    You KNOW I love me some fro 😉 Looks delicious!!
    I also want to run on that trail you’re on… like today!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Banana Split, Running in the Heat …and Going Vegetarian (say wha?!) | Ja on the RUN

  3. Gene Madondo

    Wow looks like you had a good time and you lead a fun life, I don’t like running but I enjoy riding my bicycle around my small town. I have been hearing of this FroYo for quiet a while now, but I have never seen or tasted it, it looks like ice scream from your pictures above its a good thing you are burning a 1000 plus calories on your bike rides given your addition to this FroYo.

    Reply
  4. haleymg12

    I have a “night run” (7pm but it will still be light out) July 13th in Davis,Ca. So it will most likely be 90+ degrees…oh a half marathon. My goal is to wear shorts & just a sports bra. We’ll see!

    Reply
  5. Jen @nutcaseinpoint

    I am still DYING for some fro-yo (although I did have coupons for free Blizzards that we used last weekend…even though it didn’t kill the craving)! I’m a 100% Rainbow Sprinkles gal. Where my parents live in upstate NY, there are tons of soft serve places and I ranked them in order of rainbow sprinkles colors and tastes- and YES they vary! hahaha

    Reply
  6. Brittany

    WAY to run without a shirt!! I have never done that cause I definitely don’t want to scare people, but I should have a few times when I was dying of heat haha. Your froyo consumption is impressive!! What a great few days!

    Reply
  7. cwupcake

    I’ve only just become comfortable enough with myself to strip down to the sports bra to hose off after a mud run. Walking back to the car topless is fine, running (and therefor jiggling) is still out of the question. Stupid belly. Which isn’t helped by the frozen yogurt truck at my job every Thursday!

    Reply
  8. Tink

    Fun! I could barely breathe on my Sat am run it was so humid! As soon as the weather hits 65+ I only run in a sports bra (and shorts of course), its all about comfort! Froyo is soooo wonderful, our favorite is Menchies and I always always get peanut butter sauce and cookie dough toppings on mine!

    Reply
  9. OneMotherofaDay

    I have never ran in a sports bra, I would be way too self conscious. I love Fro Yo!! I usually put on tons of different toppings, I have to have my rainbow sprinkles on there!! I went to a new froyo place a couple weeks ago and it wasn’t a self serve one and they limited you to only 3 toppings (unless you wanted to pay more for addt’l toppings) and those 3 toppings they put a tiny bit on. The one plus about this place was their vanilla froyo was so creamy, it was probably the best I have had!

    Reply
  10. beautystillremains

    All of your FroYo is hilarious! I really like that tank top… I might be making a stop at Old Navy for a running treat 🙂

    Reply
  11. thedancingrunner

    I love the ‘run rest repeat’ top! Too cute 🙂 Fro yo is the BEST! Anything to eat that cools me off I am loving right now…I just bought some fresh fruit coconut popsicles because it is really heating up here in TX!!

    Reply

Share Your Thoughts ...